Thursdays Crit with Visiting Artist Paul Johnson

I was lucky to be given the opportunity to have a crit about my work with the artist Paul Johnson. We looked at the last four weeks of work that I have created from the gold room performance, to my  new cement paintings. He said you could see the old work has influence the new paintings and how they are more effective than my more bold statements which were in your face but these were more subtle but more effective.

image

Paul was very interested in where I would go next with my work, I explained maybe making it a bigger scale, but he thought the scale which they are is perfect any bigger the work would be more about the size of the work. We also discussed over surface and also different colour of cement so that the viewer would be confused about the materials used.

Leave a Reply

